Solar Energy or Fitbit?

At this point I am still unsure about which topic I am interested in writing my final paper on. However, there are two topics that I am considering, which are solar energy and the Fitbit. These topics are both completely different from each other, but I would be interested in learning more about each. After class on Wednesday I got to thinking about the environment and how we could help improve the conditions of it. I have always thought the invention of solar panels was a great idea and I have never understood why it is not used more often. For this reason, I am interested in learning the pros, and especially the cons, of installing solar panels and relying completely on solar energy. Although solar energy is very interesting to me, I also feel like I would like to learn more about the Fitbit because I am interested in maintaining a healthy lifestyle, and I think the Fitbit could possibly play a large role in that.

The environment today is very polluted due to multiple different sources, such as automobiles, and power plants fueled by coal. Humans have become extremely reliant on fossil fuels to the point where we cannot live without them. I think one solution to this problem is to introduce solar energy to more buildings and appliances that require fossil fuels to run. Solar panels can be pricey to install; however, over time, they prove their worth because the value of your home increases, and they cost about as much as or less than your electric bill would over the years. Solar panels are capable of running up to seventy-five percent of a building’s energy, therefore, lowering the costs of the owner’s electric bill, and making the solar panels worth the cost after just a few years (Vaughters 2014).  Recently scientists have even begun to invent automobiles that run purely on energy from the sun and can even go up to 500 miles on a single charge. However, as of right now “solar cars” are not a  practical vehicle and scientists still have some issues to resolve to make the “solar car” a practical, everyday car. Solar energy is not widely used in most homes and buildings, but once scientists figure out a way to make it more practical and less expensive, more people will be anxious to use it.

On a different note, the Fitbit is becoming more and more popular every day for people to track their exercise and health for the day. There are several different versions of the Fitbit so people can buy one that fits their exact needs. The Fitbits are designed to track the amount of steps you take in a day, how many flights of stairs you climb, the amount of calories you burn, and the intensity at which you did all of these activities. There is also one other feature that I think is especially interesting, which is the one that tracks how you sleep through the night. I have never been real curious to see how well I sleep throughout the night until I found out that the Fitbit can track that as well. The Fitbit connects to an app that you can download onto your phone and track your progress for the day and throughout the night. I think the Fitbit is a great tool for people who want to or need to track their activity for the day, and I would be very interested in learning more about it. When it comes time to make my final decision about which topic to choose, I think it will be a difficult decision, but with a little more research I think I will make the right choice!

Vaughters, Al. “Are solar panels on your roof worth the expense?” WIVB. 24 September 2014. Web. 26 March 2015.

Leave a Reply

